Monday, August 09, 2010

197th Anniversary of the Battle of Medina: The Bloodiest Battle in Texas History

The public is invited to attend the 197th anniversary of the Battle of Medina, at a site in Atacosa County overlooking the Galvan Creek, where it is believe between 800 and 1,300 men died on August 18, 1813. This was the bloodiest and largest lose of life of any battle in Texas history, and it occurred about 20 miles south of San Antonio, Texas. The ceremony will begin at 10:00 a.m. on Saturday, August 21, 2010, and everyone interested in Texas history is invited.

Due to the heat, we will only be at the battle site for about one hour so that each Society can re-dedicate their marker. The marker for American Revolutionary Patriot Peter Sides, and the Sons of the Republic of Texas marker for Benjamin Allen and all the other men who fought and died in this battle will be re-dedicated. The SAR, DAR, SRT, DRT, The Daughters of the War of 1812 Society, and the Mayflower Society will all re-dedicate their markers, making this one of the most honored and dedicated historic sites in Texas. Members of the Mayflower Society will also re-dedicate their marker for Samuel Alden, a printer from Philadelphia, who is believed to have died after the Battle of Medina and descended from the Mayflower Pilgrim.

The combined Color Guard will present the Colors to begin the ceremony and will fire a musket salute to all those who participated in this battle on both sides to conclude the event. Everyone will then retire to Pleasanton, Texas for lunch on your own, and then reconvene at the Pleasanton Church of Christ located at 1003 North Main Street for an air-conditioned history seminar from 1:00 p.m. to approximately 3:30 p.m. in the church meeting hall. The Atacosa County Historical Commission members will graciously be providing us with refreshments in the afternoon at the church during the symposium again this year.

The afternoon history seminar will present the latest research on the First Republic of Texas and the Battle of Medina. Several speakers will be featured including Robert H. Thonhoff, KSJ, an award winning author; and Dr. Jesus F. de la Teja, PhD. Chair of the History Department at Texas State University, in San Marcos, Texas. Frank, as Dr. de la Teja likes to be called, is also the former President of the Texas State Historical Association and was appointed the first Texas Historian by Governor Rick Perry.

To reach the site for the 10:00 a.m. outdoor ceremony, proceed south from San Antonio on Highway 281 some 15 miles from the intersection of Loop 410 South and Highway 281, to the community of Espey, Texas, and turn right (west) where signs will direct you to the ceremony. For additional details contact Tom Green, at (281) 922-1118, or his cell phone at (832) 687-3474. Wear a hat and comfortable shoes and bring drinking water and a lawn chair that will not easily sink in the sand.

No comments: